Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever-growing population or to develop business and boost economies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

It is clear that the urban population is increasing at a noticeable speed, and the citizens’ requests might be pressure by social resources. Even though many people value their public parks, others suggest that it is better to replace parks with business or residential areas to meet their growing demand for land. I find this point of view very dissatisfactory.

Firstly, green places play a significant role in sustaining and improving people’s health. Before anything else, trees and plants in parks can absorb carbon dioxide and other chemicals, as well as provide us oxygen which helps to improve that area’s air condition. This improvement can be essential to people who have breathing problems due to air pollution. Another reason to maintain public parks is that many people can keep fit by doing exercises or doing public sports like badminton or football there. Daily exercises make a person healthier by improving their circulatory and immune system, building a stronger body plus protecting them from illness.

Secondly, cities which have parks and gardens look more appealing than those which don’t. If a city had only skyscrapers, industrial areas, and housing estate, it would be pretty boring and dull; therefore, the greens and flowers can make the city brighter and more colorful, thus bringing people closer to nature.

Finally, changing parks into business and residential places is not an effective solution to the yearly expanding population. Instead, the government should build more satellite centers outside of crowding urban areas. This would not only solve the high rate of jobless workers but also decreased air pollution caused by traffic in cities.

In conclusion, I believe that public parks benefit both the citizens and the panoramic view of the city, and there are alternative solutions to deal with growing needs for land use, such as building more suburbs or suburban centers.