Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with that?

More and more public parks and open places in cities are replaced by high rise buildings and shopping centres to meet the need of ever growing population in those urban centres. However, government and individuals can take various steps to mitigate this issue. Owing to the increasing rate of urbanization and modernization the enviornment of those citieis is facing problems such as pollution and deplantations.

To begin with, firstly due to the growth of population in urban areas, the plants and trees are removed from the public parks and this space is used for building residential areas and business centes. This, reduction in the number of trees leads to rising levels of CO2 in the environment. In addition, demand for cars have increased dramatically which is causing sever air pollution which is harmful for the health of citizens as well as contributes to the green house effect. For example, a recent report shows that increasing air pollution in Delhi due to the cars and industrialization has caused alarming health problems amonth the citizens. Furthermore, these escalating levels of harmful gases such as CO2 and CFC eventually contributes to global warming, which is a threat to our planet.

There are myriad of measures which can be undertaken by the individuals and government to reduce these ill-effects on the environment. Authorities should encourage plantation of more and more trees along the road sides and people should try and make changes in their lifestyles such as planting more trees in their garden as well reducing the use of car whenever possible. Government should promote the use of eco-friendly products, renewable energy resources like solar power and wind power. People should buy cars which uses eco-friendly fuels such as biodiesel or even switch to electric cars. Individuals should try and use public transports or bicycles for their day to day commutes which helps in solving the traffic problems. Government should charge high taxes on industries using fossil fuels as resources and producing high levels of CO2.

In conclusion, in my opinion urban centres are growing by leaps and bounds to meet the demands of growing population, authorities should pose strict laws and promote awareness among the citizens about the protection of environment. Moreover it is the responsibility of individuals to make their cities a better and safe place to live in.