Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, obtaining news on the Internet has become an accelerating trend. I have faith in the likelihood of this trend overshadowing the traditional way of reading newspapers to become the most crucial source of news.

The most obvious proof supporting my viewpoint is the decline in popularity of traditional newspapers. Conventional newspapers ’ nature which is characterized by a thorough and time-consuming process of editing, printing and distributing turns to be a weakness that causes newspapers fail to meet the instant quest for news of modern news readers. In addition, due to the fact that printed newspapers are geographically limited, their reach and exposure levels are becoming substantially lower than those of online news. Apparently, it is online press, not the traditional one, which helps news seekers all over the globe access local news as well as global news published by a variety of international prestigious newspapers including BBC and New York Times. Such availability of online news far outweighs that of printed news, steadily dominating the news industry.

Moreover, the advantages of online news significantly surpass those of printed newspapers. In this era of advanced technology and communications, the omnipresence of the Internet and the availability of Internet devices have boosted the popularity of online news to an extent that the concept of buying and reading a printed newspaper would become obsolete and inconvenient. Online platforms which facilitate fast-moving and immediate news updates will certainly become the utmost solution to satisfy increasingly demanding and busy news seekers. Thanks to Internet-based platforms, news about an incident happening half work away could be retrieved within a few seconds after its commencement, which renders news updates one day later on conventional newspapers out of date.

In conclusion, despite the fact that printed newspapers still hold an important role, I firmly support the tendency that they will be eclipsed by online news.