Some people are of the opinion that women should play an equal role in police or military forces like the army. Others believe that this work is unsuitable for women.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that women nowadays are playing an increasingly significant role in our society, in particular by taking up employment in sectors which were mainly male dominated. However, people remain divided over whether women are capable of performing jobs in the police force or the army. While it is traditionally believed that women should be given an equal chance in police or military forces, some argue that they are not suited for those. I agree with latter view.

It is understandable why some people advocate that women cannot be employed in the defense force. This is because arguably, females do not have the strength and stamina required for such a strenuous job. For instance, in sports competitions, the difference in physical strength of man and woman is obvious. Some men can run faster and are stronger than their female counterparts. Consequently, people of this view think that a woman’s place is better in doing stereotypical work such as being a teacher or a career.

However, I believe that women should be given the opportunity to participate in the police or military forces. The reason for this is that women possess other attributes that can be of benefit to those sectors. For instance, a woman is likely to be more inclined to being nurturing and caring; such traits are ideal for female medics in the army. Moreover, a female presence is more appropriate in certain circumstances. A fitting example is that in Mauritius, a policewoman needs to be present whenever a girl or lady is taking her driving test. Thus, this builds more trust and imparts a sense of security to the test taker.

In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however I tend to believe that women should be able to participate equally in defense forces as they have other traits and qualities that men do not possess.