In some countries, people waste a lot of food that they buy in shops and restaurants.
Why do people waste food? What can we do to reduce the waste?
Human being is totally incapble of living without food. However, millions of
tons of foods is wasted on a faily basis. This essay will endeavor to point out
some main causes of this phenomenon before its solutions are drawn
There are some prominent reasons for the current situation. One of them
could originate from the fact that many wealthy families have a tendency to
buy too much food. In other words, they frequently purchase such an
excessive quantity of food for reservation, but not consume this in time;
therefore, these kinds of food become the leftovers and turn decayed. It is
estimated that approximately four billion tons of food is wasted globally each
year, around 15 percent of which is derived from affluent families. Another
reason worth mentioning is that the supplies of food far exceed the
customers' demands. Everyday, due to the overproduction of food, millions of
food sources, which cannot be maintained in good condition overnight, is
unnecessary, which culminates in being discarded.
Nonetheless, the predicament could be mitigated by some workable solutions
proposed hereafter. First and foremost, individuals should be highly aware of
the important impacts of food on their daily life. By purchasing and consuming
food intelligently, people would treasure the values of food, which not only
helps them save money, but also reduce the volume of leftover food. In
addition, the food makers have to study the needs of the market in order to
balance the production and consumption of food resources throughout the
country to avoid abundance.
In conclusion, that food is currently being squandered is such a pervasive
and on-going issue that matters the entire world. The negative buying habit of
many prosperous families and the uncontrollable food production could be
blamed for this issue. Nevertheless, acknowledging the true values of food to
the world and adusting the food distribution could resolve the aformentioned
problem.