Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that newspapers will keep the first position as the most essential source of news regardless of there is an increase in the number of people who get news on the Internet. In my opinion, this view is not satisfied and I totally disagree with it.

On the one hand, online news is preferable because it has some significant advantages. Firstly, we will always keep track of the latest current affair because news, events, and pictures are updated hourly on the websites. To get that convenience, the way of an article, a magazine or a newspaper which are published online is relatively distinct from the conventional way due to the absence of printing, delivering and selling steps. Secondly, the development of the Internet has brought about a huge revolution in different aspects of life and this makes online news more and more accessible. Indeed, a smart phone or a laptop which is extremely user-friendly can connect to the Internet instantly and facilitate up-to-date online news to spread to all people at any time.

On the other hand, the conventional newspaper has several drawbacks. One of them is the cost, which has been pushed up gradually beyond the reach of low income families. For example, the price of a daily newspaper such as Tuoi Tre has been gone up from three thousand dong to eight thousand dong, so a monthly expense for this newspaper is two hundred and forty thousand dong, which can make lots of families consider. Another issue is environmental concerns, which have been aware of in recent years. We all know that paper is made from wood and in order to produce a sufficient amount of paper for the newspaper industry, millions of trees were cut down and that causes a devastating effect on the environment.

In conclusion, I appreciate the role of online news in changing the way to get information and do not believe that conventional newspapers can stand as the most essential source of news.