Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

It is true that global tourism has a negative impact on destination resorts and some countries. There are a variety of reasons for this, but steps can be taken to tackle the problem.

In my opinion, three main factors are to blame for the unfriendly attitude towards foreign visitors. Firstly, tourists have an adverse impact on local customs and indigenous practices, which is presented by being too rowdy at public space or wearing unsuitable clothes. As a result, young native people may be exposed an undesirable influence, which can make them curious and try to copy these visitors. Secondly, the spread of tourism can put pressure on the natural environment because some tourists may throw or litter garbage into the streets and rivers. Moreover, due to an increase needs of accommodation, a lot of beautiful beaches are spoiled by the building of hotels.

These problems can certainly be improved in order to change the negative belief of the public. The change must start with the authority, who should enforce a strict regulation on tourism activities such as a heavy fine on littering garbage into the inappropriate place. Also, more programmes which aim to introduce local traditions to visitors must be enhanced. For example, tourist guide should suggest foreigners to rent traditional clothes such as ao dai to take a photo and give them some historic places of the country. At the same time, economic benefits have to be more widely promoted by different means of media, so that local people can realize the importance of the tourism industry in creating employment in services like accommodation, transport and entertainment.

In conclusion, international tourism will face a negative prospective from local people if authorities and tourist operator set clear rules to demonstrate the right attitude.