Although riding bicycle brings enormous health and environment benefits, the time taken to travel is more compared to other forms of transports

Some people argue that using the bicycle as the primary form of transport has a lot of benefits, however, others believe that there are many drawbacks. Although riding bicycle brings enormous health and environment benefits, the time taken to travel is more compared to other forms of transports. I believe that the advantages are eclipsed by the disadvantages.

Riding bicycle has enormous benefits which help an individual to be healthier and protects the environment from hazardous gases. Cycling is considered as a good exercise to improve health. Also, the exhaust fumes from other vehicles pollute the environment so it is wise to use a bicycle for commuting. It is recommended that government should take initiatives to encourage people to use a bicycle because of its advantages.

On the other hand, although there a lot of advantages of using a bicycle, the major disadvantage is that it takes more time to travel. Using bicycle as the main form of transport will consume more time particularly during the rush hours in major cities. It also requires more physical energy to drive a bicycle which adds more time. For example, if an average person takes 15 minutes of time to travel a distance of 15 miles in a car, it would take more than an hour to commute the same distance in a bicycle. Hence most people prefer other fast vehicles over a bicycle.

To conclude Although riding bicycle brings enormous health and environment benefits, the time taken to travel is more compared to other forms of transports. I believe that the advantages are overshadowed by the disadvantages.