The amount of sport shown on television every week has increased significantly and this is having an impact on live sports events. Do you think the benefits of having more televised sport are greater than the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In recent years, live telecast of sports events has increased manifolds which eventually have led to a reduction in the number of spectators for watching live matches and sporting events. Although the television has enabled watching matches and sporting events very convenient and cost-effective, I do personally suggest that watching a match live has better experiences and benefits.

These days many sporting events are taking place, which is domestic, regional or at international levels. attending live matches has two major advantages. Firstly, following match in a stadium or closed arena has a completely different experience. For instance, once I got a chance to watch a test match between England and India in Chennai stadium last year. The whole experience was blissful. The atmosphere was electric and the crowd was euphoric. I was so delighted and had a wonderful time. It was a completely different experience for me.

Secondly, watching a game or sporting event and supporting a team or an athlete helps them to get motivated, boost their morale and help them perform better. For example, a team or an athlete often do better on their home ground and in front of the domestic crowd.

On the other hand, attending a live match attracts a lot of time and money. For example for a day match, one has to buy tickets in advance. Moreover one has to take leave for a day if the match is scheduled on a working day.

To sum up, television has enabled us to watch sports according to our conveniences, however, I believe that watching a match or sporting event live, among the crowd is certainly more entertaining and interesting.