Probably one of the most remarkable breakthrough in human history, the Internet has become an essential tool in our daily life. Life without the Internet would seem to be far more complicated - if not even impossible - to us: activities that once people could only have dreamed of , like working from home, purchasing items from all over the world, booking hotels in exotic destinations, are nowadays commonplace. Besides this practical and certainly positive side of the Internet, it is also worth mentioning a rather negative aspect of it revolving around misinformation and fake news users come across when they access the Internet.

Cheap and steadily stable Internet connections, combined with affordable computer prices have lead to an increase in the percentage of people who actually access the Web. Scrolling through Internet sites, it is quite easy to read all kind of information, from politics to science to news. Along serious and proved news provider, blogs run by users without any proper education have been cropping up in the last years and this trend seems to be unstoppable. Concealed behind a screen, everyone is virtually in the position to spread distorted information. The Internet can be encyclopedia as well as junkyard at the same time.

Especially when it comes to politics or science, distinguish between solid statements and utter falsity is not always easy. To make matters worse, rubbish is more quickly and widely disseminated than it used to be in the past, for the news can these days reach every corner of the planet in a couple of seconds. Lack of control, anonymity, ignorance could therefore fuel a ripple effect of falsehoods that can misinform people and potentially endanger lives.

In conclusion, despite the Internet has actually improved life conditions, users should also be aware of the risks they can run into when they are searching for information. Double checking, referring to various sources of information are steps that everyone who is seeking for reliable information should take.