Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Technology innovations have been largely utilized in human lives since more and more people decide to learn or work on the internet. This new phenomenon has both advantages and disadvantages to consider.

Studying from home encourages the discipline and activeness of learners as there is a variety selection of online courses and learing time. For example, a student can support the family with chores or extra-work in the morning, and make time for acquiring knowledge in the evening. In addition, children from remote areas do not have to go to school if there are difficulties such as lack of transport or long distance from schools. Online studying has been proved effective in the pandemic of coronavirus when students have to stay at home due to lockdown and social distancing. However, interaction between teachers and students, or among classmates is irreplacable. Schools promote the cooperation and development of social skills for students as extracurricular activities and competitions are held annually.

Working via the internet is beneficial because people can adjust the working time on their own as long as they finish the assigned tasks. Take the working hours as example, office workers may not follow the strict 9-to-5 rule and worry about being late for work. On the other hand, the productivity is worth noticing because of the environment and the state of working without interacting with colleagues. In case people only do their tasks before the upcoming deadlines, their performances will be hindered.

In conclusion, the application of advanced technology in work and study on a daily basis has its pros and cons. It is dependent on the flexibility and suitability of a specific person.