Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is arguable that the science of food and how to prepare it should not be included in school curriculum for the reason that more important subjects need to be prioritized. Each point of view has its own benefits and drawbacks, which are discussed in this essay.

Science of food is regarded as a proper topic to be introduced to school lessons as it acknowledges and helps students to take care of themselves and their families by teaching them how to prepare healthy meals. For example, a student going to college will deal better with an independent life if they are conscious of cooking and eating healthy food, especially when young people usually prefer fast food and constant noodles due to their convenience. Moreover, knowledge of nutrition gives students opportunities to plan their own diets in order to keep fit, or improve their mental and physical health, or change their appearances for the better, more importantly, students do care about their outlooks in teenage years .

On the other hand, learning one more subject as science of food and how to prepare it seems overwhelming to some students. School life should be spent for studying and doing extracurricular activities, which contributes to a good profile to enter colleges. Nowadays students have more choices whether to study overseas or in their countries, which is the reason why studying must receive the most attention. Science of food and how to prepare it seems useful, but could be grasped at a different time after graduation.

In conclusion, studying science of food and how to prepare it has its pros and cons, and it is up to each individual to determine whether it worth spending time for or not. In my opinion, science of food and how to prepare it should be brought to school because it provides life skills for students to lead independent and healthy lives.