Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Many adolescents now choose to communicate via the Internet rather than have face-to-face meetings. This essay gives my opinion why this is happening and suggests some methods to promote the socialization in real life among teenagers.

Interacting with other people on the internet is preferable because online conversations do remove the distance barrier and encourage the activeness of teenagers. Virtual friends can chat and connect to others from different regions of the country, and even other nations. For example, a teenager tends to make friends with foreigners to improve his or her language skills as well as cultural unstanding of other territories. In addition, some people have difficulty socializing in person, so texting is a better way of communication for them. They no longer feel shy or embarrassed to start a conversation with strangers of their age. These two reasons have made virtual interaction more popular than ever.

It is of significance that teenagers should be more involved in face-to-face meetings by two methods. First, parental guidance and advices are needed to acknowledge their children that true friendship can not be built without the communication and experience of ups and downs together in real life. Meeting friends in person and participating in favorite activities in common such as drawing, and doing sports help to strengthen the bond in friendship. Last but not least, schools should open clubs or students' communities so that people with similar interest can get to know and assist each other in school life and real life.

In conclusion, virtual communication is getting its popularity due to the removal of distance and embarrassment. However, offline meetings are crucial to be motivated for teenagers via the help of parents and schools.