In this era of global innovation, the increasing number of people using online platforms to work or study from home has caused a level of controversy around the world. In my opinion, I support the view that this trend might be more harmful rather than beneficial to citizens and the whole society.

To begin with, there would be a variety of negative impacts of telecommuting and telestudy on individuals. First, teleworkers and students, without doubt, are more prone to spend a myriad of hours on computers, leading to the lack of face-to-face interaction and outdoor activities. As a consequence, there are good possibilities that they could be susceptible to loneliness and physical health problems. In fact, it is evident that the light from a computer screen would be harmful for eyesight, resulting in vision impairment. Moreover, since people might not experience any strict observation from managers, teachers or colleagues during the process, they are more likely to get distracted from the surrounding environment and other social media platforms, causing a significant decrease in productivity and attention span. For instance, one of the top distractions when you work from home can be your kids or spouse, they can talk loudly, run around and make some noise.

In addition, it is widely accepted that working or studying from home would have detrimental effects on the community. Initially, since remote workers and students simply don’t have as easy of a time developing rapport with a team that has the benefits of in-person, candid conversations and spontaneous brainstorms, the social culture can be damaged. Second, there is also a risk that human beings may work too many hours due to less separation between work and home, which can result in overtime obligations or employee burnout. Furthermore, people also have to face a higher data security burden when their tasks are being done at multiple locations on multiple devices, which can be harmful to their private life. A standard example is that nowadays cybercriminals are able to access personal data easily and blackmail victims by threatening to expose their private information.

In conclusion, my opinion is that the application of technology to work and study from home has brought several significant drawbacks such as the aforementioned above. However, companies and schools should take this issue into consideration for long-term goals.