Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. why is this? What problems does this cause?

In the current day and time, many people have chosen to live in the cities instead of countrysides. While high-quality lifestyle might be the main reason, there are certain issues relating to production of sufficient food resources for the population.

There is no doubt that living in the urban sprawl offers a lot of conveniences. There are many job opportunities which help people to make more money and improve their life conditions. Also, various state-of-art buildings and up-to-date technologies serve to achieve easier yet more productive working conditions. Furthermore, there are a lot of recreational places for people to go out with their friends and socialise.

However, the majority of population dwelling in city centers might be burden to agriculturists. They will face challenges to produce sufficient cattle and crop to provide the basic needs of the population. This will make governments to consider alternative ways of sustaining food resources. Additionally, the more people live in the certain area the more damage they cause to the surrounding environment. High rates of exhaust fumes, pollutants of the water and nature can be a good example of this.

To conclude, cities has become overcrowded with people who came there to improve their lifestyles. However, this might result in food shortage and increased rates of environmental pollution.