ART CLASSES LIKE PAINTING AND DRAWING ARE IMPORTANT TO STUDENTS’ DEVELOPMENT AND SHOULD BE MADE COMPULSORY IN HIGH SCHOOL. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Since artistically oriented classes in high school are significantly flourishing in the recent years, an increasing number of people embrace the idea of compelling students to participate in this categories these of classes. From my perspective, it is not worthwhile to make art classes mandatory for all pupils in high school on account of several reasons.

A group of people believe that having compulsory art classes is comparatively beneficial to the development of pupils. Compared with scientific subjects, artistic ones are obviously the stimulus of student’s imaginary and creativity derived from the inspiration of products created by the prominent such as Leonardo da Vinci or Mozart. Additionally, it is proven that students who opt for occupations such as musician or artist will demonstrate exceptional talents, which may help them produce such outstanding performances and become prolific figures, thus enhancing the national stature.

It would be an overstatement to claim that making art classes compulsory does not bring any disadvantages. One problem with this approach is that many students may not welcome this subject if they are not artistically endowed. For example, some students who do not possess impeccable voices may find singing obviously embarrassing, which will not only result in the eventual confidence deprivation but also a decrease in class efficiency. Besides, that an enormous number of high school students whose innate abilities on crucial scientific fields such as Mathematics, Physics or Biology are forced to consume a considerable amount of time for arts may lead to the inadequacy of appropriate environment that can fully take advantage of their prospects, thus wasting the potential human resources of the nations.

In conclusion, art classes are advantageous, yet they are not recommended to be obligatory for every high school student. Instead, these classes should be made optional so that students will have their own choice of subjects with a view to strengthening the necessary skills and pursuing the desirable careers