In this modern education, where young generations have to study numerous subjects; drawing or painting is one of those subjects. There is a fair amount of people think that high schools should not make arts to be compulsory subjects in their curriculum. In my opinion, I totally agree with this opinion and this essay will argue why arts should not be required for high school students.

On the one hand, there is no denial that drawing or painting develops creativity. When children participate in art classes, they will be learnt how to imagine as well as how they could develop their ideas, which definitely bring positive impact to their creative. For example, even when painting a simple object like house or tree, children need to image the real ones and vividly translate them into their works of art.

On the other hand, although drawing or painting might develop creativity, I believe this subject should not be mandatory to learn because of several reasons. The first one is that the ability of drawing or painting is gifted. Because not all students have talent in art, so they will easily give up when they find it difficult to complete a paint assignment. The second reason is that adding art subjects as mandatory classes increase pressures on students who do not have painting ability, which also reduces the time of learning other core subjects such as math or science; Those subjects give them more benefits in this current society.

In conclusion, this essay argued why high schools should not require their students to study drawing or painting. While these subjects have a positive impact on human development to some extent, I believe that it should be optional subject in high schools because art classes are not suitable for everyone.