Space exploration requires vast sums of money. Is the amount of money spent on space research justifiable? Could the money be better spent?

There has always been considerable debate about whether governments in many countries should spend money on space research. In my view, it is impossible to justify the amount of money invested in space research. The principal reason is that there are many projects should be in higher priority in this decade.

Firstly, there are still many people living in poor condition especially in underdeveloped countries. They are suffering the lack of food as well as clean water. Instead of spending money on space research, the developed countries should execute programs to improve the life quality of citizens in underdeveloped countries. For example, the US government spent about $100 million dollars on researches regarding space and planets in 2014. If the equal money invested to build systems to process water sources in Sudan, all citizens this country would have had clean water in daily life.

Secondly, there are many urgent problems that nations have to resolve as soon as possible, such as air pollution and HIV. Most residences of countries are breathing in the polluted atmosphere which contains the huge quantity of Hg. People may slip into a coma and die if they breathe in a certain amount of this substance. Moreover, if the governments had reduced budget to projects of NASA and had spent more money on HIV research, the HIV patients could have been treated better.

In conclusion, it is hard to justify the budget spent on space research due to there are many serious issues need to be addressed. Support to poor countries, invest more money to find out cures for HIV and air pollution are the urgent programs that countries should set a high priority on.