The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in society.

Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyles?

Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

Arts have always played a crucial part in shaping the modern person’s attitudes toward the world. Nowadays, in connection with the unification caused by globalization, the value of arts reflecting the identity of a culture has increased drastically. To my mind, music and pictorial art are to be studied mandatorily by children in school but not to the detriment of other subjects

World integration in various spheres of life leads not only to the economic prosperity of latter-day countries, but also to the loss of a unique cultural code. Today the role of music and theater, preserving and transmitting the characteristics of a particular nation at the international level, has especially increased. For example, as per the record published by New York Times, in 2017, Germany has increased state funding for art to prevent the loss of its uniqueness due to the massive influx of migrants with a different cultural background. Thus, arts help to preserve the cult features of the nation distinguishing it in the world arena.

Love for art is to be instilled from an early age, therefore music and visual arts should be included in the school curriculum. Painting contributes to the sparking of the imagination and it is considered as one of the most effective ways of emotional relaxation. According to the Vienna University, children who practice pictorial art or music on a permanent basis are less prone to emotional breakdowns. Thereby, art should be taught to schoolchildren for providing emotional discharge and the development of their creative abilities.

Summing up, the role of art in nowadays’ world has been growing steadily due to necessity to preserve traditional cultural values in the era of globalization. With the reference of the importance of arts today, they are to be included in the education system to familiarize immatured minds with music, theater and painting.