Because computers can translate all languages very quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this digital era, it is universally accepted that computers can totally replace the role of a dictionary as they can translate languages correctly in a short time, thus, it is unnecessary to learn a new language. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement because of a ton of benefits a person can gain from knowing a second language

On the one hand, it is undoubtedly that technology nowadays is so advanced that it makes translating become just a matter of seconds. In detail, there are some appliances that are able to translate every language in the world by analyzing their algorithm. The users can get the translation in just under a minute with a high level of accuracy and even some of them can be used without being accessed to the Internet.

On the other hand, accumulating a foreign language does not only revolve around understanding it but also to help people open up their minds to a whole new culture. Specifically, a foreign language teaches far more than its vocabulary and grammar, along with having a deeper insight into a country’s uniqueness and traditions, you can form a new way of thinking. In addition, people who know more than one language can have more advantages when it comes to occupation. For example, applicants can make a greater impression on their employers if they are able to speak many languages

To conclude, it is fascinating to see computers have a profound power to translate everything so fast and accurately. Although the advancement of the current technology is undeniable, I still believe that being acknowledged about many languages are of paramount importance for everyone