Because computers can translate all languages very quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

All languages can now be translated in a much easier and quicker way thanks to machine translation programs; therefore, some people believe that it is no longer necessary to learn a second language. I completely disagree with this idea.

It is true that thanks to technological advances, these days we can easily translate any foreign language into our mother tongue and vice versa. It only takes a few seconds or so to translate a language into another one using Google Translate or other translation apps. Also, machine translation is often more accurate due to the fact that translation software is designed so that it is able to translate a word or a phrase based on its own context. Therefore, some people think that such programs are a substitute for learning a language, which takes years to study and practise.

Despite the benefits mentioned above, I personally believe that using translation apps or websites does not mean that we no longer need to spend time learning a foreign language. In the case of an emergency when we are not allowed to use any technological devices, for example, the inability to understand and speak English could cause us great trouble. Another example is that those who decide to work or study overseas might encounter various problems if they rely entirely on their translation apps for their daily communication. We can hardly ever build a close relationship with our neighbours in a new country if we are unable to speak or understand their language.

In conclusion, although technology has made it much quicker and easier to translate any language, I believe that learning a foreign language is still necessary.