Behavior in schools is getting worse. explain the causes of this problem and suggest some possible solutions.

The behavior of a child can mirror a significant scope of who they are as a person. Many, including myself, believe that children nowadays reflect a higher proportion of negative behavior, especially in school settings. In this essay, I will discuss possible reasons for this violent attitude, while providing two possible solutions that I believe will reduce the severity of the situation greatly.

Among many reasons, the negative influence of media and lack of parental guidance can stand out much more significantly as for reasons why teenagers in the present act the way they do. Social media and coming of age movies tend to portray the bully as cool and popular. This delivers a negative message and promotes violence as it tells these growing children that being nice is a characteristic of the lower social class when in reality being humble is the greatest quality of all. Due to an increasingly busy lifestyle, parents find it challenging to spend time with their children. This can lead to a lack of guidance of these children, increasing their risk of going astray. Adolescent teens seek constant validation and attention, therefore when their parent does not provide this sufficiently, they tend to behave badly in school to regain this lost attention.

Despite all these causes, there are indeed pathways to reduce the negative consequences. Firstly, parents should monitor the type of media their kids are exposed to. It is the parents’ responsibility to teach their kids why what is portrayed in the media is wrong. For an instance, when watching a movie that glorifies the bully, the parents can take action to explain how bullying can hurt other feelings and impact in a negative way while enlightening their children about core values such as compassion. Another possible solution is teaching effective communication in school as well as encouraging students to participate in campaigns that help develop essential skills such as empathy. Research reflects that the primary reason for the rise of many conflicts is lack of communication and hence by developing such skills and learning to see problems from other’s perspectives can help kids understand other’s actions and hence reducing violent behavior.

The way one acts in certain situations can directly reflect their personality and values. Although media and parental neglect can negatively encourage a kid’s bad behavior, it is not avoidable. By parents and teachers helping kids develop various skills that help them tackle different situations with minimum negative consequences from a young age, I believe that majority of the worse behavior experienced in schools can be minimized.