The best way for a government to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transportation 24 hours 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, traffic congestion has become a severe problem. Few people believe that the most effective way to tackle this problem is to make public transportation free of cost. Although I believe that this is one of the solution, I don’t think this the best way to solve this major issue.

To begin, there are several reasons why few people consider this as the best measure. Firstly, providing free public transportation means less of number of private vehicles on roads. This in turn will lead to significant fall in number of accidents that occur daily. To illustrate, it is easy to regulate and control traffic because of decreased vehicles. Secondly, if government facilitates public with free transport then most of them will prefer this means of transport in order to save their money. Also, introducing this measure helps poor people who can’t afford to travel daily.

Nevertheless, I believe the drawbacks of taking up this measure outweighs the benefits. One of the major loss by introducing this is to public. For example, government uses the income earned from these transportation services to give better facilities to public which might not be possible if it is free of cost. Also, in order to meet these expenses there are chances of imposing higher taxes on common people. This might affect the poorer sections of the society while rich people can afford to pay these unfair taxes. Moreover, people are habituated to comfort and luxurious life. Introducing this measure doesn’t mean that all the people will use only public transport. As a point in case, nowadays, the proportion of cars used is higher than bikes or any other private vehicles. This indicates that people give importance to their comfort and not money and thus continue using their own automobiles.

To sum up, providing public transportation service free of cost can be one of the possible way of tackling this issue, I believe there are many other solutions which can produce better results when implemented. All in all, both governments and people should try to make sure to reduce traffic jams for the betterment of the society.