The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic jam is an important problem that many nations have to suffer. Some solutions were made by the government to solve this problem. One of them is providing free public transport all day, in both daytime and night time. In my opinion, it is not the best measure and other methods should be taken.

Providing free public transport in twenty – four hours perday, seven days a week is a good solution. This can reduce the quantity of transport that active on the road. Instead of driving a car by oneself, now many people can go to work in a same car. This solution may minimise traffic congestion significantly.

However, it is not the best way to solve the traffic jam phenomenon because of its disadvantages. It is difficult for the government to continuously provide public transport all day, even in the late night. The government have to pay the expenses of coal or oil and the salary of workers. If public transport is free providing, the government may not have enough money to make the payments in the long term. This may put pressure on the public purse because the budget of the government is limited and it have to be spent on a great number of problems. Moreover, in the case of emergency, people will still use private transport because public transport has it own time, and it is not flexible for people in many circumstances.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that I disagree with this opinion because of its disadvantages mentioned above.