The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic jams are truly a serious issue that government should handle with. Some people suggest that the ideal solution for this is to give complimentary public transportations all of time for citizens. However, I think this solution is not reasonable and effective in cities.

Firstly, it is precise that heavy traffic jams just only exist in predictable time, which is whether people arrive or depart their offices and workplaces. Therefore, traffic problems usually happen in peek time in business schedules from seven o’clock in the morning to five o’clock in the afternoon. As a result, local authorities just need to emphasis on that time. Moreover, entrepreneurs’ main purpose for heading to cities is to go to offices or conduct a meeting in convention buildings. It is typically scheduled in weekdays because of convenience and professional. Hence, governments possibly increase a number of traffic transportations, such as trains, ferries and light rails, to deal with the peak times in the urban areas.

Then, it is unnecessary to provide non- cost services in transportations. Most people prove that to serve free public transports will encourage civilizations to prefer to utilize them rather than their own cars. Governments, however, will carry a burden of costs and fees to operate the transitions. It is unfair for them to conduct this measurement, which will provide profits to the one side. Thus, to achieve the best result for both of citizens and governments, they can come op with some ideas of discounts of fees when people are travelling in the peak time as the essay discussed in the previous paragraph. The solution will have two main advantages, which are to attract civilizations to use public transport and to support governments make a profit.

In conclusion, traffic congestion is precisely a negative impact on economic development in big cities. While governments and local authorities receive suggestion to provide free transportations for citizens every day, it still has some disadvantages related to time and costs of operations in transitions.