The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, opinions are divided regarding whether enhancing parental techniques is the most effective way to decrease juvenile delinquency. In my point of view, I am opposed to such an idea since it does not comprehensively deter young people involving crimes and other measures are needed.

Equipping parents with skills might be advocated to reduce young crimes since there are several couples ignorant of how to raise children well; therefore, they may have difficulties in shaping their children’s mindset. This to inappropriate education such as using violent punishments to discipline their children which may develop aggressive behaviours among them when growing up. However, improving child - raising is not sufficient as parents have to handle a large number of tasks nowadays, thereby being unable to observe their children frequently. This coupled with the fact that children expend almost their time on learning at school, meaning that they tend to be more affected by school education than household one. Arming parents with skill only has partial impacts on crime rate among the youth; thus, such idea should be rejected.

In lieu of promoting parent’s child - rearing, other viable solutions should be adopted to curb the crime rate among the youth. First of all, authorities should supply vocational courses for the youth. In fact, some adolescents carry out illegal activities merely to make ends meet. When young people are trained for jobs, they could find better occupations with high income which enable them to cover their lives. As a result, a significant percentage of young crime will be diminished. Moreover, governments should impose stringent regulations on young offenders such as putting on probation or long prison sentences for young criminals . This would be the deterrent for those who are inclined to criminality.

In conclusion, developing parental skills is not the most sensible action to cut down the rate of young criminals and other proposals should be considered.