The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the best ways to address the global environmental problem, according to conventional wisdom, is to increase the price of gasoline. From my perspective, I am in complete agreement with this viewpoint for the following reasons.

The first reason is that an increase in fuel prices could address the issue of pollution. In other words, when the cost of fuel is expanded, people tend to be resisted commuting by their private vehicles such as cars and motorbikes; instead, they are encouraged to carpool or utilize public transport systems. That means, emissions from private vehicles in megacities would be diminished. Take Hanoi as an illustration of the strong connection between pollution and petrol fee extension. Reportedly, a study from the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment records that the rate of pollution in Hanoi has halved since the government tripled the price of fuel. What can be inferred from this is that the escalation of fuels would be efficient in decontaminating pollution in megacities.

Another justification is that increasing fuel costs may help mankind save the natural resources. To be more specific, if the expense of fuel is raised, fewer people will use their vehicles, which means fewer raw materials being exploited. Recent research suggests that non-renewable resources are strongly associated with fuel price increases. Accordingly, a study in a city in Russia reports that since the price of fuel soared due to the Russia-Ukraine war, this country has not exploited natural deposits for several months. This directly suggests that increasing fuel prices encourage people to conserve natural resources, which are on the edge of depleting.

In conclusion, the price of petrol should be increased for the benefit of not only pollution in megacities but also the natural resources.