Since the arrival of industrialization and excessive consumerism, environmental issue has been a major concern over the recent years. It is often argued that raising the price of fuel is the optimal mean to resolve the environmental problem. In my view, I partially agree with the given statement and I believe that there are other ways that are also useful to manage the problem.

It is undeniable that the primary reason of the air pollution is rooted in the fuel utilization. During the process of burning the fuel, massive amount of contaminated gas would be generated. Take fossil fuel for example, the research indicates that most of the air pollution is produced by the transportation, particularly the automobile. To grapple with this critical issue, increasing the price of the petroleum is necessary. In this way, it could not only reduce the emission of harmful gas, but also relieve the heavy congestion of traffic.

Even though raising the price of the fuel is an idea measure to deal with serious environmental issue, there are still other ways which is essential as well. It is vitally important for the government to impose the tax on the meat as it would produce substantial quantity of carbon dioxide which is the source of global warming. To demonstrate, the scientific researchers suggest that most of the carbon emissions are attributed to the farming of the cows and pigs. Accordingly, taxing on the meat may effective to alleviate the global warming as a result of the carbon dioxide.

By way of conclusion, as argued above, I firmly believe that increasing the price of fuel and taxing the meat are both pivotal to tackle the environmental issue. For the betterment of the environment, both of which should be strictly implemented.