The best way to understand other cultures is to work for a multinational organization. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Multinational organizations can be found in most major cities around the world these days. Working for a multinational company is thought by many to the most effective way to learn about different cultures. Although working for such a company provides the opportunity to mix with people from various cultural backgrounds, I would argue that this is not necessarily the best way to learn about cultures.

No doubt working for a multinational organization will enhance their understanding of other cultures for some people. The first reason is that in a multinational organization, one can learn about other countries' customs and traditions by mixing with people from a different background who work in the company or in liaising with colleagues abroad. Exposure to other languages is also likely, something that gives a much greater understanding of culture. There may also be the chance to relocate to work in another country, which would mean complete immersion in that culture.

However, there are several reasons that it is not necessarily the best way. Firstly, there is no guarantee that you will be exposed to other cultures since it depends on your positions within the company. Not all employees have roles where they regularly mix with other cultures. There are also other excellent ways to achieve such a goal; many people these days travel the world, and this is an opportunity to meet and spend time with people from other countries. It is also possible to do voluntary work with organizations and charities that work in other countries, something that would mean you meet a mix of people rather than just those who work in Companies.

In conclusion, despite the potential ways working for a multinational company can result in contact with people from other cultures, I believe that it cannot be assumed it is the best way as there are other options to do this.