The best way to understand other cultures is to work for a multinational organization. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Multinational organizations can be found in most major cities around the world these days. working for a multinational company is thought by many to the most effective way to learn about different cultures. Although working for such a company provides the opportunity to mix with people from a variety of cultural backgrounds, I would argue that this is not necessarily the best way to learn about cultures.

There is no doubt that for some people, working for a multinational organization will enhance their understanding of other cultures. The first reason is that in a multinational organization one can learn about the customs and traditions of other countries through mixing with people from a different background who work in the company or in liaising with colleagues abroad. Exposure to other languages is also likely, something that gives a much greater understanding of culture. There may also be the chance to relocate to work in another country which would mean complete immersion in that culture.

However, there are a number of reasons that it is not necessarily the best way. Firstly, there is no guarantee that you will be the person who gets exposure to other cultures since it depends on your positions within the company. Not all employees have roles where they regularly mix with other cultures. Also, there are also other excellent ways to achieve such a goal many people these days travel the world, and this is an opportunity to meet and spend time with people from other countries. It is also possible to do voluntary work with organizations and charities that work in other countries, something that would mean you meet a mix of people rather than just those who work in Companies.

In conclusion, despite the potential ways in which working for a multinational company can result in contact with people from other cultures, I believe that it cannot be assumed it is the best ways as there are other options to do this.