The best ways to solve world's environmental problems is increasing the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the optimal measure to tackle environmental issues is the increase in fuel price. Although this may work to some extent, I would argue that there are more efficient ways to better the situation.

Raising the cost of fuel may lead to a decrease in the use of this energy in transportation and production. This means emissions, which are one of the main culprits of pollution, would be reduced, leading to improved air quality. For example, in Vietnam, the price of fuel has been so high that parts of its population have opted for other choices of communting, such as using shared cars or public means of transportation. As a result, the environmental situation in many big cities and various places seems to have improved. Therefore, charging people for a large sum of money for fuel might help deal with environmental issues, although this may not be the best solution.

However, the method stated above is not likely to solve such environmental problems, including deforestation. Authorities should launch campaigns encouraging people to preserve remained forests and to grow more plants. Another way to remedy the polluted environment is to raise citizens' awareness of the detrimental effects of pollution, therefore makes them adopt eco-friendly habits such as using paper bags instead of plastic bags. In addition, governments should spend parts of their budget on scientific researches because the results of these studies may be some innovative and efficient ways to address the issues mentioned above. It is also pivotal that local authorities impose strict laws and heavy punishments on any company or individual that contaminates their neighborhoods.

In conclusion, higher fuel cost might partly remedy the contaminated environment. However, more effective methods can be employed to address environmental problems, which threaten the quality of life of almost every nation in the world.