In recent times, expenditure on preservation of animals and their habitats is experiencing a growing popularity by both government and its citizens. While some people believe that it is for the best of the environment, others argue that this money should be invested to dispel poverty and enhance medical services. In my opinion, it is acceptable to allocate money for protecting wildlife; however, it should not be at the expense of stopping funds to other crucial sectors.

To begin with, it is extremely essential to invest money on saving animals and their dwelling places. This is because, they are an indispensable part of the ecosystem, which ensures the human existence into this world to a great extent. In other words, humans and animals are inter-dependent on each other in order to maintain balance within the ecosystem. If we do not save budget for keeping animals and their habitats safe, then this balance will get disrupted, which would eventually lead to extinction of both humans and animals. Another point to consider is that animals not only provide us with food but also other useful products such as medicines, luxurious bags. For instance, a recent study published by a renowned university reported that scientists are close to finding the cure of various forms of cancer from a species of shark. Therefore, cutting off the funds to conserve animals would take a heavy toll on human lives.

Nevertheless, despite having reasons to subsidize animal protection, I don’t think government should spend its entire finances on this alone. This is because, majority of the countries are inlaid with lots of alarming problems. One of the most obvious challenges is poverty. According to a united nation’s report, more than half of the world’s population is living below the poverty line. This means that they have either no access or limited access to food, water, shelter or clothing. If government had decided to fund animal protection programs only, then countless number of people would have died out of poverty and starvation. Moreover, without strengthening the health care services, people will not be able to expect a disease-free lifespan. Consequently, governments need to reserve money for tackling these problems as well.

In conclusion, while it is true that government needs to keep funding to save the animal kingdom for maintaining the biodiversity, it can neither ignore the problems that are likely to arise from lacking of investment to eradicate poverty and improving medical health care services. In my view, governments and individuals need to find out a balance to expense on these two categories.