It is important to consider whether government and its citizen should invest money on preserving wildlife or fund other pressing issues of the societies namely poverty and health care. Although some people think that it is better to have money for saving the animals, I am of the opinion that government need to allocate budget for eradicating poverty and improving basic health care system since human lives matter more than animals.

Many countries around the world are facing an enormous number of problems. One of the most obvious challenges is poverty. According to a united nation’s report, more than half of the people in this world are living below the poverty line. This means that either they have no access or limited access to food, water, shelter or clothing. In such miserable situation, it is illogical and insensible to spend money for animals, while impoverished and destitute people are disenfranchised of their basic life necessities. This action not only brings about depression and hopelessness in the society but also compels poor people to commit criminal offences and sometimes suicide. For instance, recently in a slump of Bangladesh, a disheartened father tried to take off his life when his 2 year old children asked him for food after remaining in starvation for three days straight. If the government had invested money in this sector earlier, then this incidence would have never happened.

Moreover, poverty gives birth to several other problems such as pollution, which is hazardous for both the environment and other living beings. In other words, if people cannot take care of themselves because of poverty, it is preposterous to think that they will care for the wildlife and their habitats. Due to poverty, insufficient sanitary facilities and improper sewerage infrastructure in developing countries, rivers and oceans are polluted to the point that they are no longer inhabitable for aquatic biodiversity. A recent study revealed that, a variety of fish population has been reduced to almost half in the Indus River, owing to industrial and residential waste being dumped into the river. Therefore, it is crucial to allocate funds for the development of such infrastructures, which not only improves people’s lives, but also saves other species and their habitats.

To conclude, while other people may vary in their opinion, I think that government should subsidize the alarming problems in our community such as poverty and its related problems rather than on the matters that are merely the result of the above mentioned factors.