Both Views

A certain number of people assume people turn to be more independent in today's modern world. Although others think that people would rely on other people to live since there is a shortage of natural resources, I believe the emerging technology is more likely to help us solve our own problems.

The shortage of natural resources in today's era would likely make people become dependent on other people in terms of food. This is because not all people can access the land to grow their own food. For instance, a study conducted by the government of Jakarta stated that nearly 90% of fresh food supplies in Jakarta were sent from the West Java rural area due to the scarcity of fertile soil available in Jakarta. This condition makes Jakartans unable to grow plantations.

On the other hand, emerging technologies help people to become less reliant on other people in terms of solving problems. This is because technologies provide the information we need without having to ask other people for help. This can be seen on the Google Maps technology that enables drivers to find direction on the road when being lost in a place they have never been to. Thus, they only need to use their phone without having to ask anyone about the direction.

In short, even though some people might still rely on other people in terms of natural resources available, the presence of technologies makes people become more independent in today's era. Both notions are much likely dependent on the context.