Gender Equality

Female position among society has changed for the last 5 decades but still can not be assumed gender equality has been achieved. I strongly agree since there is still found much discrimination against women's role and salary in the work environment.

Women are found tends to be at a lower level at work compared to men when it comes to the job role, making them unable to reach a leadership position. This is because of the stigma given to women that they are too sentimental to lead staff so that they are not being objective at work. Research conducted by ILO in 2019 stated that more than 70% of women in the tech industry only reach the middle management at work since they were told that they were too overthink when it comes to working.

Salary discrimination has also occurred to women as they were assumed to do lighter work than men even the workload is proven to be the same. This leads to demotivation happening to women when receiving less than they should. A survey conducted by McKinsey in 2020 found that the highest company turnover rate in the industrial sector was dominated by women in the middle management. The reason was that they did get paid as much as their men acquaintance.

In conclusion, role and salary discrimination against women at work are prone to be the primary reason why gender equality is barely achieved in the last decade. This should be improved by the government by creating tight regulations regarding this situation.