The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For 50 years, the position of women has converted a great deal in societies, but societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. I agree that culture and political will are the main problem.

Culture is a problem to achieve sex equality in societies, because people have a tendency to follow their ancestor saying that men position is above women. Putting more simply, their predecessor teaches them to put women in the kitchen or household or just pregnant and breeding. For example, in East Java, one of the biggest province in Indonesia, women have an obligation to cook, wash and clean the house and stay at home to take care their children.

Furthermore, there is no political will from the government to solve the problem. The government often limit access for women to participate in political action. There is no law to give women more opportunity to join in the election, thus women often in the unlucky position in the competition. It means that women cannot change the regulation limiting their capabilities and freedom. For example, in Indonesia politic, women become have minority in government and parliament. It is not providing the capacities for women to change their destinies by changing the regulation.

In conclusion, I believe that culture and political will from the government are the main problem in many societies to achieve the gender equality for 50 years. Where possible, the government have to change the regulation to give affirmative action for women to sit in government or parliament.