Boxing is a blood sport which often results in physical injury. It is inappropriate for this sport to exist in the modern age.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that boxing is often considered a violent sport and boxers are usually seriously injured after a match. As a result, many people suggest that this sport should not exist in the modern day. In my opinion, I think that although boxing seems to be inappropriate, it does not necessarily have to be vanished.

On the one hand, boxing appears to be a bloody sport. After an intense match, fighters could have their bones broken, or even die in some cases. Therefore, people think it goes against the aims of sports, which are promoting health and encouraging people to make friends with others; thus, it should be banned. However, there are measures that can be taken to prevent the serious consequences of boxing. By equipping fighters with more protection and prohibitting the dangerous attacks, the major injuries are hopefully reduced.

On the other hand, boxing can offer people many valueable benefits. To begin with, practicing boxing is a great way of learning self-defence. Boxing has shown to be one of the most effective martial arts in terms of practical combat, which can help people to protect their lives and properties in many situations. In addition, the sport also gains people fitness. As practicing boxing burns a substantial amount of calories, people can lose their weight after a short time doing this sport.

In conclusion, even though boxing could be seen as a violent sport, the threats that it poses could be minimized with some appropriate methods. Furthermore, doing it regularly can give people considerable advantages. Thus, I hold a firm belief that boxing should only be regulated instead of banned.