Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowhere in history has the issue been more visible than the mass expansion in the number of private cars, which could bring a lot of negative impacts. From my perspective, throughout analysis, the consequences for this mounting predicament and the resolution to alleviate it will be illustrated in my following essay.

There is no denying that traffic problems in many crowded cities are culminated from the increase in the usage of private cars. As more people commute by their own cars in peak times, traffic congestion takes place everyday, which not only causes many disadvantages in people's daily life, but also the surge of car accidents. Apart from this, the environment is also affect negatively. Since most cars use fossil fuels, the air in urban areas becomes more polluted day by day, which affects badly to our health.also, this will bring about a profound impact on the shortage of fossil fuels, which has been concerned about in years.

Regarding potential solutions, improving public transport is better. One of the main reasons why people prefer traveling by cars is public transportation’">transportation’s infrastructure is not comfortable enough. Therefore, when improving the public transportation’">transportation’s quality and apply more routes, people would tend to travel by cars less and using city buses, jams and metro. Another possible solution, which has been successful in many countries such as Germany and Singapore, is imposing high taxes on cars. As soon as the price of cars becomes higher, as a result,less people could afford private cars.

In conclusion, it seems that the rise in traffic issues and environmental problems are the main consequences associated with the increment in private vehicles. potential solutions would involve improvement in public transportation and also, the high taxes imposition of cars.