Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Taking good care of offspring is the most important responsibility of parents. Therefore, some people believe that it should be compulsory for them to take parenting courses to become good fathers and mothers. Personally, although these classes can be beneficial to some extent, I dissent from the idea that they should be mandatory.

On the one hand, people can reap several benefits from these training courses. The babies often have a weak immunity whose functions are not developed comprehensively. Thus, parenthood preparation courses will help parents know about first aid skills, basic pathology information, and how to deal with emergencies. For instance, when babies convulse, they are likely to know how to loosen their babies’ collar before taking them to the hospital if they attend these courses already. Secondly, the balance of baby nutrients is also a vital matter in which people could be taught in these classes.

Nonetheless, it is impractical to force people to attend these parenting lessons. Firstly, there are numerous parents who are having trouble with their budgets. They have to work overtime, in the evening, or even at the weekend to earn money to make ends meet. Therefore, they have no time and cash to take these classes. Secondly, taking these courses is not the only way to resolve this problem. Nowadays, there are many ways, such as books, news, or websites which teach people how to become good parents. They are so cheap and convenient for those who are always busy. Therefore, I think that they should be free to choose whether or not they want to join these classes.

In conclusion, despite some benefits mentioned above, I strongly support that parents should take part in parenthood preparation courses voluntarily, not through being required.