In some cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Urban areas all over the world have been suffering from a serious concern, which is thick traffic flows. The reasons for this problem have been attributed to population explosion and the rise of private transport, which I believe could be solved by introducing suitable counter-urbanization policies and encouraging citizens to use public transport.

The causes of high traffic volumes in suburban areas would be the boom in population in these areas as well as the dramatic increase in the number of private vehicles. The more populated these areas are, the higher the number of traffic participants they have, meaning the traffic demand would be too high for a huge number of vehicles to be in use to meet such great requirements. As most other means of transport in significant cities are in poor condition and inconvenient for people to get, they would be filled with concerns while using these transports. As a result, passengers would tend to use private transport to ensure their benefits.

In addition, there are several possible measures to resolve the problem. First and foremost, the authorities would encourage citizens to reside in suburban areas. To make that happen, they should introduce counter-urbanization policies. One of the most feasible ways would be to create more jobs with good compensation policies in rural areas. Another possible solution would be to encourage the use of public transportation. In detail, the government would subsidize some target groups like students, the elderly or war pensioners, invalids, and survivors. Besides that, they should also upgrade the quality of the public transportation system.

In conclusion, the prime reasons for the high volume of traffic in urban areas all around the world are the population boom and the dramatic increase of private vehicles, which could be improved by encouraging people to settle in rural areas and to use public transport.

306 words.