For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of technology, some people think computer skills should be made as the fourth important skill to be added to the list. What extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that the rapid growth of technology has revolutionized our life in every aspect. Therefore, it is often suggested that students be equipped with some crucial computer skills as a part of the school curriculum. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this motion as not only students themselves but also the country can reap a lot of benefits from teaching students computer skills.

At the outset, it is undoubted that learning how to use technology has an indispensible part to play in students’ life. Initially, the exposure to science and technology at a young age is highly likely to have a good influence on their academic learning results. Thorough understanding about some crucial computer skills including online communication, basic computer knowledge, internet research and taking online classes, students will find it much easier to broaden their horizons, to acquire an enormous amount of disciplinary knowledge. This definitely will take them much further in their studying and makes it possible for them to pursue their passion regardless of many hardships they suffer. In addition to that, a great acquisition of computer skills will be a good incentive for students to land in their dream job. Nowadays, 75 percent of jobs will require computer use including some of the most desirable in the world such as software developer or IT manager. As a result, the ability to use computer is the requisite criterion for the future world.

Furthermore, in all likelihood, the provision of computer skills for the young generation will exert a profound impact on the development of the country. Entering the technological era with a well-qualified workforce, a country can take the full advantage of every cutting edge invention with the aim of stimulating the socio economic development to the full extent. Besides, that this potential generation is supplied with opportunities to learn computer sciences will create many tech breakthroughs, which is highly probable to make the country competitive in this field, and make an enormous contribution to the development of humankind.

To recapitulate, I think it is critical that students learn computer science as a mandatory subject at school to become a global citizen in this digital world.