Children are generally more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Thus, it is better to learn languages in childhood.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people think that children can quickly master the new language compared to grown-ups. In this essay, I will strongly agree with the statement. Firstly, I will discuss how school-going children have excellent grasping power and focus. Secondly, I will explore how adults are more distracted and burdened with their responsibilities.

To begin with, there is a saying that, children are like a lump of clay that is waiting to be molded into something beautiful and unique. Therefore, they have extremely quick grasping power. In addition to that, the concentration of young kids during their learning phase is strong, they are extremely focused and dedicated. Learning a new skill or a new language excites kids and hence, it is always helpful to incorporate this into their curriculum during their childhood.

On the other hand, in the case of adults, they are always burdened with a lot of responsibilities and hence do not have time and energy to learn new things. Additionally, due to the stress of work and social relationships, they lack concentration as well as focus. This results in difficulty while getting used to a new habit or learning a new language. For example, let’s assume the class timing is 8 pm in the evening for the new course. In the case of adults, they will be completely drained out in terms of energy and excitement after a long and exhausting day at work, whereas kids will approach this course with the same excitement as in the morning.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the claim stating that it’s always helpful and better to learn new languages in childhood. Children have more focus, concentration, and time to learn new things compared to adults.