Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that children have a sedentary lifestyle with less activity in their leisure time. While I agree that more time at school should be allocated to sport lesson, I believe that forced exercise is not efficient way to be more active.

On the one hand, modern life have made people of all ages especially young people less active which can lead to many health problems such as diabetes and high cholesterol, so the physical activity of children should be increased. In this regard, sport lessons must be obligatory in schools which have different benefits. The greatest advantage is that physical activity improves children’s mental well-being. For instance, when children work as team sports competition, they should think to different strategies at a short time and make a best decision to win. In addition, sport help children learn discipline and working with others as a team. In other words, in real life children do not live or work apart from others, so learning how to cooperate with others and team skills ought to be taught from childhood.

On the other hand, some young people who want to stay healthy join a gym out of school in order to take regular exercise, so they do not enjoy compulsory sport. Furthermore, school should allocate a higher budget for educational facilities compared to sport which may lead to the number of educated people in the community will increase which reduce unemployment rate as well as decrease crime rate and positively enhance the people’s life standard. Another negative point of forcible sport class in school is that sport lessons is a waste time of valuable studying time. Teachers should pay more attention to academic subject like mathematics and physics that student are usually weak.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the idea that children do not have enough activity in their free time, I do not agree that sport lesson is obligatory.