Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a fact that in today’s world, children are less energetic than the previous generation. It is believed that schools have to add sports classes into study programs for students in order to help them be more active. To my way of thinking, I completely agree that children should be taught sports at schools. Discussed below are several primary reasons which support my perspective.

First of all, doing activities is a precautionary measure of ailments, especially obesity. In other words, children who do not do activities, specifically play sports may be rotund. Hence, children should do more exercises or play sports to get fit and ameliorate their overweight. Moreover, schools play an important role in developing children’s health by involving physical training in schools. For instance, education in some countries in the world has a subject called Physical Education to teach students how to play sports or exercises. This directly suggests that youth should do exercises and play sports more often to limit obesity.

In addition, sports can help children become healthier. To be specific, playing sports improves children’s health, physical health to be exact. Take the height development of children as an illustration for this point. When children play sports such as swimming, basketball, their tallness can be improved. I am convinced that schools should have solutions to encourage their students to play sports. For example, schools can add sports in Physical Education lessons so students have to learn these sports. Furthermore, schools should sometimes organize sport competitions to encourage children to take part in and play sports. Thus, children not only can become higher and higher but also can be healthier. What can be inferred from this is that playing sports help children improve their physical health and become more vigorous so children should play sports often instead of staying still.

By and large, today’s children are inactive and do not have a playing sports habit. I truly suggest that children should play sports more because of its advantages. Consequently, schools can make sports lessons to be compulsory to help children do exercises and play sports.