Children being brought up in single-family. What are the causes and the effects.

Nowadays, there is a truth that the rate of single-families in our society is increasing remarkably. A question is raised about whether children living in such families develop comprehensively. This essay will examine both the causes of this phenomenon as well as its effects on children.

In terms of the causes, there are two main reasons for single-parent families including divorce and the parents’ choice. The first roof is originated from divorce because when parents split up their children have to live with one of them. It means that divorce leads to families which have only a mother or a father to take care of their kids. Another cause of the issue is parents’ option. Obviously, the development and changes of society now make people more independent. As a result, they choose the lifestyle they really want and many of them decided to raise their children on their own.

Regarding the effect of this issue on children, this type of families may influence on children’s characteristics and their psychology. Firstly, children living in single-parent families are more likely to independent and confident compared to those in two-parent families. The reason is that thay are taken care of by only their mother or father; therefore, they have to look after themselves more. This help them have a lot of dependence as well as confidence in their life. However, these families may bring about detrimental impacts on children’ psychology. A 2020 research conducted by National Institute of Society indicated that 90 percent of kids living in divorced families felt vulnerable and lonely. Some of them even have problems with socializing network building.