Many people opine that young kids can learn a lot from television, and therefore parents and teachers should encourage them in doing so. I totally disagree with this statement, even though many TV shows offer good information related to science and history. The majority of content on all channels nowadays focuses more towards advertisements and other harmful materials.

People who favor television as a good learning option, says so as there are many educational channels like Discovery, Nat Geography and History Channel. All these programs offers good source of audio-visual information to the viewers. Also, studies have shown that children are able to learn things quickly when provided with visual learning methods. However, television is not the perfect source for kids, when intended to gain knowledge.

Nowadays, most of the TV channels focuses more on advertising to increase their commercial aspects. So, these ads act as a major disturbance, as the child looses focus from the important information provided on the show to such marketing strategies. So, it is not wise to say that television can offer learning opportunities to a great extent.

On the other hand, there are many other sources from where a child can learn. Nowadays, books with images are available, that helps to develop critical thinking ability in a child. Also, educational videos are available online, that can provide an enjoyable learning experience to these young generation.

In conclusion, television do provide some good information form few channels, However other sources like educational videos and pictorial books helps them to improve their conitive skills and critical thinking abilities.