Children engaged in paid work.

There is an opinion that occupying and paying for children’s employment is totally unacceptable. However, some argue that working at the early age is an ideal opportunity to garner the tacit knowledge and being responsible for themselves. From my perspective, I strongly believe that the plus point of being a working child equal to its drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is considered that children working could have a high risk of being discriminated against and exploited. The children might earn a lower salary frequently due to the unwarranted assumption of the employers that they are likely to be responsible for less workload, thus, the productivity is lower. However, the amount of work that each person, regardless of different age, has to do is analogous. In the long run, not only would be disadvantaged in terms of wages, but the working children are also underused. Moreover, it is thought that children are vulnerable to social vices because of an unselective and unhealthy working environment. This factor could lead to children leaving the academic system without sufficient knowledge.

On the other hand, working from a young age is likely a better preparation than other non-working counterparts in the future. First and foremost, the saturation of degrees has increased more and more and employers require them the experience instead of explicit knowledge as a prerequisite. Thereby, participating in the workforce at the early age, children have a chance to accumulate several practical skills such as time management or teamwork. They could also learn work ethics, which is a beneficial work experience for them in entering working fields later on. Furthermore, when children successfully participate in the work activity around them, they take pride in what they do and being more confident about themselves. For instance, a child who has the opportunity to work earlier is not suffered from experience deficiency as they get used to with the demanding of work.

In conclusion, I am not with the idea of children’s work in all the circumstances, but parental guidance. Therefore, it is beneficial to every child to gain knowledge regarding various aspects and implementing them in the desired field though paid works add experience at that young age.