Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

On the account of mitigating the delinquency rate, people have different views about whether the government should sentence longer and sterner imprisonment or implement the other optimal solutions. Both views are justifiable, but I lean towards the latter school of thought.

On the one side of this issue, stricter punishments will undoubtedly act as a deterrent to curb the local crime rates. As a matter of fact, not only could the longer prison sentences generate fear of detention in criminals’ mind, it also discourages them from becoming an offender again after reintegrating to the society. During the time in the prison cell, the violators would have opportunities to get rehabilitated owing to various penalizations such as corporal punishment which are rigidly implemented inside. That is to say, those harsh sanctions could obsess their psychology and partly deter them to violate the law in the future.

On the other hand, albeit with the merits of high imprisonment, the other critical strategies should be prioritized on the government agenda. To embark on, the authorities could enact the non-custodial convictions such as heavy fines in response to local safety improvement. This cost-effective sanction is likely to enhance the awareness of each individual, which much more ameliorates the delinquency rate. Moreover, education on violations of the legislation and sufficient employment are also quintessential factors regarding the aforementioned dilemma. For example, if a child is provided proper education about social vices, they are not likely to become a villain when they are mature. Likewise, a person who is occupied and has a stable life would be kept away from crimes.

All in all, local safety improvement is not solely addressed by lengthening the penalties. In lieu of that, a range of alternative mentioned proposal should be applied or accompanied in order to become the most efficacious approach to hinder the crime.