Children today find it difficult to concentrate on or to pay attention to school. What are the reasons? How can we solve this problem?

In today’s world, more and more students, especially the younger ones, find it hard to focus in the classroom. The causes of this acute problem are social media, that get children used to the habit of losing concentration and the lack of interest in learning academic skills. This essay opines that teaching kids to do mentally strenous activies can help improving their attention spans, and make classes more intersting can resolve this adverse situation.

Social media is one of our greatest inventions in modern days. It’s merits are undoubtable, however, it can encourage children into getting a bad habit of losing focus. Because of the nature of social media, which gives you unlimited access to fun-quick information in the forms of ‘feeds’, children are prone to have short attention spans. This makes them more liklely to lose focus in class. Futhermore, the lack of interest in learning is also another predominant cause. Kids, naturally, don’t want to pay attention to lectures as they don’t see any benefits in doing so, and the lectures per se, might be repetitive and boring.

Nevertheless, we can combat with this detrimental habit of children by various means. We can encourage them to learn skills that required more mental effort than using social media, such as learning an instrument or a new language. Thus, we can improve their attention spans, and the skills that come from this are side benefits. To illustrate, many parents are now applying their kids for music classes to increase their focus abilities. Moreover, we can make classess more engaging by using diverse means to teach students, such as quizz challenges, in lieu of just teaching them in a conventional way.

In conclusion, social media and the lack of incentives to learn are the primary reasons children are losing focus more often at school. However, we can encourage them to learn new things rather than just using social media, and strive to make the acquisition of knowledge more intriguing to overcome this hurdle.