Some People Say It Is Possible To Tell A Lot About A Person’s Culture From Their Choice Of Clothes

Every culture has different beliefs and standards, and it is thought that we can discern these differences from the choices of clothes a person from a particular culture make. This essay partially agrees with this notion because gadgets can certainly reflect a culture’s values. However, that may prove to be incorrect with the exposure people get from other cultures.

A culture’s beliefs are reflected in the kind of clothes a person from that culture wears. Clothes are often part of the criteria to judge how you are as a human being, and humans, instinctively, want to express their values. As clothes provide an easy and effective way to do that as clothes are a necessity in everyday life. For instance, women in Iran have to wear a ‘Hijab’ to hide their hair because of the beliefs there.

With the exposure our current development technology gives us, it is increasingly hard to discern a person’s culture. As people can easily communicate and see what people are wearing around the world, some may change their clothes to more general, cross-culture ones that may be a mix of numerous cultures or don’t represent their own cultural values. For example, myriad teenagers are choosing clothes that are considered fashionable in a different country like Korea that have a different beauty standard from theirs.

In conclusion, whilst I agree that clothes can indeed tell us about a person’s culture, this will gradually disappear as people communicate, exchange and learn about other cultures that are different from their own.